Skip to content

What a day!

April 23, 2012
tags:

What a Day! People told me it was a race of two parts – 20 miles and then 6 miles. But I found it a race of three parts:

1. South London (up to mile 12)the crowd were thin in areas, but whenever there was a pub – there were bands or DJs and it was packed – there was a real party atmosphere. I was running well, apart from a unexpectedly necessary loo break. Most other runners also seemed in good shape.

2. East London (12-20) felt a bit more serious. I already knew this would be the bad patch as the end was not yet in sight! Crowds were thick in places and bare in others and I started seeing a few runners having difficulties.

3. Central London (20-26.2) Crowds were 6 deep screaming your name. Every runner must have felt like a rock star! Knees and hips were starting to ache, but it was starting to look like I’d get under 5 hours, and it was great to see all the familar bits of London, So I just LOVED it!

Best bits: Chatting to other BLF runners in the start zone – Sarah was running in memory of her Dad who she lost to Pulmonary Fibrosis and Andy’s Dad is a member of Breathe Easy Tunbridge Wells. A great reminder of why I was running;  running with Special K for the first 5miles was great!  finding a loo without a queue – thank you, deptford macdonalds!

Frustrating bit: Despite following official instructions and making a plan to meet people afterwards, the sheer volume of people, roads closed, phone signals jammed, and a pub that sold out….  turned what should have been a celebration into annoyance and frustration. I am SO SORRY I didn’t get to see everyone that came to cheer 😦

More best bits:  Coming over Tower Bridge. Crossing such a historic place when it’s lined with crowds is an amazing experience: getting a kiss from caveman at Mile 14; Seeing my mum at the British Lung Foundation cheering point at mile 19; Guides and Scouts doing a great job cheering and giving out water at mile 10.

Unexpected bit: The volume of walkers. People started walking early and to my suprise, by the end, it seemed like half the partipants were walking. Were all these people in trouble or had they decided to walk from the outset? They were sometimes difficult to dodge and it created bottlenecks.

Even More best bits: Seeing the EBC crew at Mile 11; looking up at buildings and suddenly realising that you were being watched from other levels too; a young lad at mile 22 who was SO happy that I took a sweet from him (don’t most kids cry when you do that?); all the high fives I collected; coming over that finish line; speaking to my aunt just after the finish line!!!

It was a really great day and I am so pleased I was able to complete it after all the support I’ve received.

And I am doing OK this morning. The legs are bit weak and shakey and my knees and glutes are sore. But back to work this afternoon!

And no – unlike many participants my immediate response is not to sign up again next year! But we’ll see…

xx

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa Milligan permalink
    April 23, 2012 10:23 am

    Well done, Clair. What an amazing achievement! You should be so proud of yourself.

  2. Tony Carr permalink
    April 23, 2012 12:10 pm

    Well done! Congratulations from Tony & Chris, and all at Harlow & Epping Forest,

Leave a comment